HS Basketball HS Boy's Basketball

DMV Roundup: Eleanor Roosevelt Dismantled Meade in 4A State Finale

Eleanor Roosevelt celebrates winning their second 4A State Title in four years. Photo Courtesy: http://www.washingtonpost.com

Maryland 4A State Championship: Eleanor Roosevelt 72 Meade 39 

Eleanor Roosevelt completely dominated Meade High School to win their second 4A Title in the last four years. In the first half, the Raiders outscored Meade 38-13. Naji Marshall led Roosevelt with 21 points (9-17 FG) and five rebounds. Jaden Faulkner had 16 points and eight rebounds. The Raiders scored an impressive 60 points in the paint.

Maryland 3A State Championship: C. Milton Wright 51 Stephen Decatur 49 

In a game that featured 15 lead changes and 18 ties, C. Milton Wright managed to find a way to beat Stephen Decatur. Brett Brown recorded a double-double, 11 points and 14 rebounds. Corey Bays scored a game high 16 points and Kyle Harkins chipped in 13 points. Decatur’s JaQuan Johnson had 14 points and nine rebounds and Torrey Brittinham scored 11 points.

Maryland 2A Championship: New Town 56 Middletown 52  

Devin Smith scored  17 points and picked up seven rebounds to help New Town beat Middletown in the 2A State Final. Matthew Johnson had 12 points, and Chris Fitzgerald had 11 rebounds. Middletown’a Clay Smith finished with a game high 21 points, five assists, and two steals. Matt Considine had 11 points. New Town was 47.7 percent (21-44) from the field and scored 17 second chance points.

Maryland 1A Championship: Pocomoke 64 Lake Clifton 56 

Pocomoke edged out Lake Clifton to win the 1A state title. They struggled out the gates as Lake Clifton was up 21-10 at the end of the first quarter. But a strong second and fourth quarter led Pocomoke to victory. Tyler Nixon scored a game high 23 points and collected six rebounds for Pocomoke. Tyrone Matthews finished with 14 points (10-10 FT). Despite the loss, Lake Clifton had three players to score in double-figures. Kai Thompson had 22 points, Rasheed Brown scored 14 points and Swantaze Drake tallied 13 points.

Alhambra Tournament Championship: DeMatha 71 John Carroll 56 

DeMatha wrapped up another 30 win season by beating John Carroll in the Alhambra Final. The Stags were led by senior Reginald Gardiner who scored 23 points. Forward Kellon Taylor registered 12 points (6-6 FG), DJ Harvey had 11, and Josh Carlton tallied 13 points. John Carroll’s Kimball MacKenize scored 17 points while Elijah Long chipped in 14. DeMatha’s win over Carroll is the team’s 23rd Alhambra Title in school history.  Markelle Fultz and DJ Harvey were named to the All-Tournament Team. Fultz also won the Slam Dunk Contest.

Follow Inside The Locker Room on Twitter @lockerroom2015 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: