HS Football

WCAC is set to make major realignment

The WCAC is getting a new look

Photo Courtesy: Bishop O’Connell

The Washington Catholic Athletic Conference will look very different next season.

Bishop Ireton, Bishop O’Connell, Paul VI, and St. Mary’s Ryken football teams are set to play in the WCAC during the 2017 season and beyond. O’Connell, Paul VI and Ireton were playing in a Virginia private schools league last season.

In addition to that, the WCAC will create two division, which means two seperate playoff and championship games.

Capital Division 

DeMatha, Good Counsel, Gonzaga, St. John’s and Bishop McNamara.

Metro Division

Archbishop Carroll, O’Connell, Paul VI and St. Mary’s Ryken.

Division play won’t take place until the 2018 season, according to Washington Post’s Jacob Bogage. Schools will still be able to schedule regular season games against teams in the other division and keep longtime rivalries.

“This is an opportunity for WCAC schools to play national, regional, and local schedules within as well as outside the conference,” WCAC Commissioner Steve Colantuoni told DC Sports Fan. “It provides a flexibility that best serves our student-athletes and our member schools.”

The Heights, a all boys’ school in Montgomery County, will join the conference in all sports for the 2017-18 year. The conference still has plans to expand down the road.

Follow Inside The Locker Room on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: