Xavier Johnson earns WCAC Player of the Year honors

Xavier Johnson (Youtube)
Photo Courtesy of Youtube.com/Jeff Garvin JG2Filmz

Bishop O’Connell senior guard Xavier Johnson was named the 2018 Washington Catholic Athletic Conference Player of the Year.

Johnson was one of the top scorers in the conference as he averaged 19. points per game. The Nebraska commit tallied 30 or more points in four games. Johnson also registered four double-doubles.

Johnson led Bishop O’Connell to a 24-6 record, which was good for third place in the WCAC standings. Johnson scored 27 points in the conference semifinals where the Knights lost to DeMatha on Sunday. 

Johnson is the first Bishop O’Connell player to win the award since Melo Trimble in 2014.

Paul VI Glenn Farrello was named WCAC Coach of the Year. The Panthers fell to Gonzaga in the conference semifinals.

Here is the list of WCAC All-Conference teams for the boys:

First Team:

Xavier Johnson Bishop O’Connell
Justin Moore DeMatha
Brandon Slater Paul VI
Aminu Mohammed Archbishop Carroll
Hunter Dickinson DeMatha
Casey Morsell St. John’s
Wynston Tabbs St. Mary’s Ryken
Anthony Harris Paul VI
Myles Dread Gonzaga
Jeremy Roach Paul VI
Terrance Williams Gonzaga

Second Team 

Matt Becht Bishop O’Connell
Earl Timberlake DeMatha
Tre Wood St. John’s
Darius Hines Bishop Ireton
Richard Njoku St. John’s 

Third Team

Ibn Williams Bishop McNamara
Chuck Harris Gonzaga
Trevor Keels Paul VI
Ishmael Leggett St. John’s
Charlie Weber Bishop O’Connell 

Follow Inside The Locker Room on Twitter

About Ryan McFadden 515 Articles
Ryan is the founder/editor-in-chief of Inside The Locker Room. He graduated from Iona College in 2019 with a bachelor's degree in Journalism, and he is currently pursuing a Master's degree at the University of Maryland in College Park.

Be the first to comment